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The NH Department of Revenue Administration’s Annual Low and Moderate 
Income Homeowner’s Property Tax Relief  
 
Concord — April 30, 2012 — New Hampshire Low and Moderate Income Homeowners 
may receive State Education Property Tax relief by applying for such relief between May 
1, 2012 and June 30, 2012.  
 
Low and Moderate Income Homeowner’s Property Tax Relief  
 
The Low and Moderate Income Homeowner’s Property Tax Relief law was designed to 
lessen the economic burden of the State Education Property Tax on certain at-risk 
taxpayers.  New Hampshire residents who own a homestead subject to the State Education 
Property Tax, resided in the homestead as of April 1, 2011, and have a total household 
income of $20,000 or less if a single person, or $40,000 or less if married or head of 
household, may apply for property tax relief between May 1, 2012 and June 30, 2012.  
 
Application forms (Form DP-8) are available on the Department of Revenue’s (DRA) 
website at: www.nh.gov/revenue.  Granite State residents can also find more information 
about the program and check the status of their application on this site.  Please be advised, 
due to budget constraints, the application form will not be mailed to previously qualifying 
residents.  
 
Residents who do not have access to the Internet may request a form by calling DRA at 
(603) 230-5001.  Residents should make their request early so that they do not miss 
the June 30th deadline.  Many State libraries, including the thirteen or more NH State 
Depository libraries, allow residents to utilize their computer Internet services to complete 
and print a Form DP-8 for submission by mail.  
 
Over 12,000 claims are submitted each year resulting in an average relief payment of $190 
per household.  Over $2.3 million of property tax relief was distributed to qualified claim 
applicants in 2011.   
 
Please note, one of the most common reasons an applicant may see a delay in the response 
is due to lack of proper attachments.  Completed claim forms must be accompanied by a 
copy of the 2011 final tax bill from the municipality where the applicant resides, along 
with a copy of the applicant’s 2011 federal income tax return (1040-EZ, 1040A, etc).   
 
Applicants are reminded that the DRA is a state taxing agency and cannot determine an 
individual’s federal tax liability.  If you are unsure of whether you are required to file 
federally, you may contact the IRS at 1-800-829-1040.  If you are not required to file with 
the IRS, you may check a box on the Form DP-8 indicating this.  Homesteads held in trust 
must also be verified by submission of the trust document, but may still qualify for relief. 


