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A Technical Information Release is designed to provide immediate information regarding tax laws 
administered by the Department or the policy positions of the Department as a service to 
taxpayers and practitioners. A Technical Information Release represents the position of the 
Department on the limited issues discussed herein based on current law and Department 
interpretation. For the current status of any tax law, practitioners and taxpayers should consult the 
source documents (i.e., Revised Statutes Annotated, Rules, Case Law, Session Laws, etc.).  
Questions should be directed to Taxpayer Services at (603) 230- 5000.
 

2011 Municipal Law Changes 

The purpose of this Technical Information Release is to provide New Hampshire cities 
and towns, as well as taxpayers, with general information regarding certain legislation 
passed by the New Hampshire Legislature during the 2011 legislative session. This 
release is for informational purposes only.  If you have any questions, or need additional 
assistance, please contact the NH Department of Revenue Administration Municipal 
Division at (603) 230-5090. 

Senate Bill 1 (Chapter 3, Laws of 2011 – effective March 1, 2011) eliminates the 
automatic continuation requirement for public employee collective bargaining 
agreements, commonly referred to as the “Evergreen Law.”   
 
Senate Bill 2 (Chapter 234, Laws of 2011 – effective July 5, 2011) is an enabling law 
that allows a municipality to adopt a tax cap through the charter process or by a warrant 
article placed on the warrant for the annual meeting by the governing body or by petition.  
If the tax cap is proposed by warrant article, it requires a public hearing prior to vote and 
also needs a 3/5 majority to pass.  The article must specify the parameters of any increase 
of local taxes.  Parameters would be based on a fixed dollar amount or percentage of 
allowable increase to the proposed budget brought forward at the municipality’s annual 
meeting.  The new law also legalizes existing charter tax caps. 

Senate Bill 15 (Chapter 19, Laws of 2011 – effective June 24, 2011) amends the 
requirement that tax collectors, city clerks or city officials must remit money collected to 
the town treasurer on a daily basis whenever the tax receipts totaled $500 or more.  The 
$500 threshold was amended to $1,500.   

Senate Bill 16 (Chapter 57, Laws of 2011 – effective May 9, 2011) requires all votes 
relative to recommendations on ballot questions to be recorded votes and the numerical 
tally of any such vote shall be printed on the ballot next to the affected ballot question. If 
a town has not voted to require such tallies to be printed on the ballot next to the affected 
ballot question, the governing body may do so on its own initiative.  Any ballot vote that 
includes a tally shall be valid, notwithstanding the fact that the vote occurred prior to 
May 9, 2011. 
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House Bill 32 (Chapter 4, Laws of 2011 – effective April 25, 2011) repeals RSA 
669:16, VI-a, relative to a town auditor and removes the reference to RSA 41:31, which 
was repealed last year.  

House Bill 70 (Chapter 91, Laws of 2011 – effective July 26, 2011) requires written 
notification by the State to the municipal clerk and the Chairman of the Charter 
Commission within 14 days of the State’s receipt of the municipal clerk’s report relative 
to an amended or revised charter under RSA 49-B:5-a.  

House Bill 77 (Chapter 1, Laws of 2011 – effective February 4, 2011) prohibits an 
amendment to a warrant article that eliminates the subject matter of the article, but allows 
an amendment that changes the dollar amount of an appropriation in a warrant article. 

House Bill 144 (Chapter 68, Laws of 2011 – effective July 15, 2011) provides that 
revenue bonds and not general obligation bonds can be used for RSA Chp. 53-F 
qualifying energy conservation and clean energy improvements.  Only grants, and not 
municipal revenues, can be used to fund the revolving fund.  In addition, general 
municipal revenues cannot be used to fund the loss reserve account.   

The new law also provides that the lien for the assessments under this chapter will be 
junior to other existing liens, such as a mortgage, and in the event of a foreclosure on the 
property, the municipality’s lien is extinguished.    

House Bill 198 (Chapter 71, Laws of 2011 – effective July 15, 2011) allows the County 
Treasurer to invest in units of pooled money market mutual funds which invest solely in 
obligations of the United States Treasury when the County Treasurer has an excess of 
funds which are not immediately needed for the purpose of expenditure.  Investment by 
the County Treasurer requires approval of the County Commissioners and County 
Executive Committee.  

House Bill 288 (Chapter 22, Laws of 2011 – effective June 27, 2011) provides that if 
an unincorporated place exceeds ten (10) voters, and has not organized pursuant to RSA 
53:1, the county in which the unincorporated place is located shall pay the town 
designated pursuant to RSA 668:2 for costs it incurs in conducting a primary or general 
election for the unincorporated place. The county shall assess the cost of conducting an 
election to the unincorporated place. 

House Bill 337 (Chapter 258, Laws of 2011 – effective July 1, 2011) changes the name 
of the “State Education Property Tax” to “Education Tax” and repeals the requirement 
for excess payments to be remitted to the Department, thereby allowing municipalities to 
retain all of the state tax assessed.  It also repeals RSA 198:47 regarding the DP-5 form 
and amends the calculation of adequate education grants and makes other changes to the 
education grant formula and distribution. 

House Bill 521 (Chapter 112, Laws of 2011 – effective July 30, 2011) requires that a 
public hearing on county budget estimates be held no earlier than 5 days, nor later than 
20 days, after the mailing of the Commissioners’ statement. 
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House Bill 622 (Chapter 262, Laws of 2011 – effective July 13, 2011) allows for the 
adjustment in the method of calculating the partial payment of taxes related to an increase 
or decrease in local education taxes resulting from a change to the town’s or city’s 
adequate education grant or excess tax amount. The changes apply to both semi-annual 
and quarterly collection of taxes and must be approved by the Commissioner of the NH 
Department of Revenue Administration. The application for any such rate change must 
be submitted to the Department prior to April 1. 

House Bill 650 (Chapter 211, Laws of 2011 – effective June 27, 2011 – sunsets July 1, 
2012) and House Bill 2 (Chapter 224:155 and 224:156, Laws of 2011 – effective July 1, 
2011and sunsets July 1, 2012) in response to statutory changes resulting in reductions or 
increases in distribution of state revenues for education to school districts, the new law 
allows the governing body of any school district (including those that have adopted 
RSA 40:13) to call a special meeting of the legislative body to consider a reduction, 
rescission, or increase of appropriations made at an annual meeting.  The special meeting 
is subject to certain provisions for noticing and voting.  This law will sunset on July 1, 
2012. 

TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 
Individuals who need auxiliary aids for effective communication in programs and 
services of the Department of Revenue Administration are invited to make their 
needs and preferences known to the Department. 
 


