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A Technical Information Release is designed to provide immediate information regarding tax laws administered by the 

Department or the policy positions of the Department as a service to taxpayers and practitioners. A Technical Information 

Release represents the position of the Department on the limited issues discussed herein based on current law and 

Department interpretation. For the current status of any tax law, practitioners and taxpayers should consult the source 

documents (i.e., Revised Statutes Annotated, Rules, Case Law, Session Laws, etc.).  Questions should be directed to 

Taxpayer Services at (603) 230-5920. 

 

2019 Legislative Session in Review 
 

The purpose of this Technical Information Release (TIR) is to provide taxpayers and tax 

practitioners with a convenient reference guide of relevant statutory changes made during the 

2019 Legislative Session by the New Hampshire General Court impacting various taxes 

administered by the New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration (DRA). This TIR is 

for informational purposes only and is intended to provide a summary or synopsis of enacted 

legislation. It is not intended to be relied upon as a full and complete text or as a substitute for 

the actual state law. Please refer to the applicable statute and rules to determine how this 

information applies to specific persons or situations.    

 

BUSINESS TAX 

 

SB 270 (Chapter 247) establishes a tax credit against the Business Profits Tax (BPT) for qualifying 

charitable donations to career and technical education (CTE) centers, administered by the New 

Hampshire Department of Education.  The maximum amount of tax credits issued to all donors for 

any state fiscal year will be $500,000.  A taxpayer may only use the credit in the tax year during 

which it made the donation, and only in an amount up to 25% of the taxpayer’s BPT due before 

credits.  The program is scheduled to be repealed after fiscal year 2022. 

 

Statute Added: RSA 188-E:9-a 

Statute Amended: RSA 77-A:5 

Effective Date: July 1, 2019  

 

MEALS AND ROOMS (RENTALS) TAX 

 

SB 134 (Chapter 304) simplifies, clarifies, and modernizes the Meals and Rooms (Rentals) 

(M&R) Tax Law as it relates to meals.  The changes are primarily editorial in nature to make the 

law easier to read and understand.  There are relatively few substantive changes which address 

regular compliance issues, including: (1) modifications to meals-related definitions, particularly 

the definitions of “meal” and “restaurant,” as well as “taxable meal,” along with new definitions, 

to clarify the taxability of food generally and meals provided by nonprofit organizations; (2) a 

penalty provision (after a warning, a license revocation, suspension, or denial) for violating the 

requirement that a license “shall be conspicuously posted in a public area upon the premises”; (3) 
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the DRA may require a surety bond or cash from an operator without an initial hearing, in order 

to protect state revenues; and (4) the deadline for an operator to appeal a license revocation, 

suspension, or denial to the Board of Tax and Land Appeals or Superior Court will be extended 

from 10 days to 15 days.  This bill does not affect the taxability of meals.   

  

Statute Amended: RSA 78-A 

Effective Date: January 1, 2020 

 

REAL ESTATE TRANSFER TAX 

 

HB 600 (Chapter 136) adds an exception to the Real Estate Transfer Tax (RETT) for transfers of 

interests in certain low-income housing projects subject to federal, state, or local land use restriction 

and rental housing affordability covenants which limit allowable rents charged to individuals or 

families, provided that the RETT was paid when the real property title was acquired.    

 

Statute Amended: RSA 78-B:2 

Effective Date: July 1, 2019 

 

TIMBER TAX 

 

SB 21 (Chapter 84) clarifies that public notice of an intent to cut timber is required only when the 

intent to cut will be signed by the assessing officials outside a public meeting.  The notice must be 

posted before the intent to cut is signed for at least 24 hours, excluding Sundays and holidays.    

 

Statute Amended: RSA 79:10, I(b) 

Effective Date: August 17, 2019 

 

TOBACCO TAX 

 

HB 595 (Chapter 178) simplifies, clarifies, and modernizes the Tobacco Tax law.  The changes are 

primarily editorial in nature to make the law easier to read and understand.  There are relatively few 

substantive changes which address regular compliance issues, including: (1) the wholesaler required 

to collect and pay the Tobacco Tax will be the wholesaler who ships or transports the tobacco 

products to a retailer in this state; (2) every wholesaler will be required to keep a sufficient number 

of recently purchased stamps on hand to pay the Tobacco Tax due on all cigarettes present at any 

premises in this state, and to file a monthly accounting of cigarettes and little cigars sold in packages 

of other than 20 or 25 and other tobacco products transferred to and from any premises in this state; 

and (3) the DRA may suspend or revoke licenses to retailers, and may assess an administrative fine 

in addition to or instead of a period of suspension.  This bill does not affect the taxability of tobacco 

products.       

 

Statute Amended: RSA 78 

Effective Date: January 1, 2020 

 

 

 



3 

 

MUNICIPAL AND PROPERTY 

 

HB 128 (Chapter 76) establishes a committee to study the use of property tax credits and 

exemptions to recognize the service of New Hampshire veterans.  The committee will review the 

eligibility criteria for each property tax credit or exemption available to veterans in New Hampshire, 

the amount of the credit or exemption, the cost to each municipality of adopting or granting the 

credit or exemption, and the number of veterans who benefit.  

 

Statute Amended: N/A 

Effective Date: June 18, 2019 

 

HB 464 (Chapter 327) changes the definitions of “solar energy system” and “wind-powered energy 

systems” for purposes of the local option property tax exemptions for solar or wind-powered energy 

systems, in a municipality that adopts or re-adopts the exemption on or after January 1, 2020.  This 

bill also enables a city or town to adopt a property tax exemption for electric energy storage systems.      

 

Statutes Added: RSA 72:84-86  

Statutes Amended: RSA 21-J:3, XIII; RSA 72:27-a, I; RSA 72:36, I; RSA 72:61; and RSA 72:65  

Effective Date: October 15, 2019 

 

HB 540 (Chapter 32) authorizes county commissioners to establish a redevelopment district in an 

unincorporated place and, with the approval of a majority of the county convention present and 

voting, to issue bonds by the county, the source for repayment of which will be limited to the 

assessment revenues generated by the redevelopment district.  The incremental increase in value of 

any project located in a redevelopment district will not be considered in the apportionment of county 

taxes to the unincorporated place, for so long as any bonds issued remain outstanding. 

 

Statute Added: RSA 33:20 

Effective Date: May 15, 2019 

 

HB 635 (Chapter 266) authorizes the governing body of a municipality to enter into a voluntary 

agreement with a combined heat and power agricultural facility to make a payment in lieu of taxes, 

after a public hearing.  A combined heat and power agricultural facility is a facility that engages in 

commercial agricultural production and uses an on-site combined heat and power system.    

 

Statute Added: RSA 72:74-a 

Statutes Amended: RSA 21-J:3, XIII and RSA 75:1 

Effective Date: April 1, 2019 

 

HB 700 (Chapter 117) establishes a uniform methodology for the valuation for local property tax 

purposes of utility company distribution assets.  The methodology does not apply to generation or 

transmission assets.  For electric and gas utility company distribution assets, excluding land rights, 

the value is a weighted average of 70 percent of each asset’s original cost and 30 percent of each 

asset’s net book cost.  For water utility company distribution assets, it is 25 percent of each asset’s 

original cost and 75 percent of each asset’s net book cost.  For the use of public rights of way and 

private easements, the value is increased by 3 percent.  Every utility company will be required to 
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report by May 1 of each year (beginning May 1, 2020) to both the municipality and DRA, the 

original cost and net book value of each category of assets located within the municipality.  The 

methodology will be phased in over a 5-year period.  The value in the first year (the tax year 

effective April 1, 2020) will be a weighted average of 80 percent of the final locally assessed value 

for the 2018 tax year and 20 percent of the value determined using the methodology.  The value 

determined using the methodology will be weighted an additional 20 percent in each subsequent year 

until the methodology is fully implemented in the fifth year.  The methodology does not affect the 

determination of value in any litigation pending on the effective date of this bill.     

 

Statutes Added: RSA 72:8-d and RSA 72:8-e 

Statutes Amended: RSA 75:1 and RSA 79-C:3, II 

Effective Date: August 20, 2019 

 

SB 22 (Chapter 221) modifies the local option property tax exemption for new commercial or 

industrial construction.  This bill provides that, once adopted by the legislative body, the percentage 

rate and duration of the exemption will be granted by the governing body on a case-by-case basis 

(rather than uniformly to all projects), based on the public benefit to be generated by the commercial 

or industrial project.  As part of the adoption of the exemption, the legislative body must define 

“public benefit” and specify whether the exemption will be made available to all properties within 

the municipality or to a specific group of parcels.    

 

Statutes Amended: RSA 72:81 and RSA 72:82, I 

Effective Date: July 12, 2019 

 

SB 101 (Chapter 191) clarifies the procedures for county audits and rearranges provisions 

concerning the powers of the county convention to conduct performance or forensic audits.     

 

Statutes Added: RSA 28:3-b and RSA 28:3-c 

Statutes Amended: RSA 24:13, II and II-a; and RSA 28:3-a 

Statute Repealed: RSA 24:26 

Effective Date: September 8, 2019 

 

SB 104 (Chapter 192) clarifies the procedures for a moderator to postpone the deliberative or 

business session or the official ballot voting day of a town meeting.  The moderator may postpone 

any session if the National Weather Service has issued a weather event warning applicable to the 

town on the date of the session which the moderator reasonably believes may cause the roads to be 

hazardous or unsafe, or if an accident, fire, natural disaster, or other emergency occurs which the 

moderator reasonably believes may render use of the meeting location unsafe.  To the extent 

practical, prior to making a decision to postpone, the moderator must consult with the governing 

body, the clerk, and certain other town officials as appropriate for the circumstances.  If the official 

ballot voting day is postponed, it must be rescheduled to the Tuesday 2 weeks after the original date 

of the session.  In instances when a ballot to be used at an election contains questions that will be 

voted on simultaneously by more than one town, the election may be postponed only if a majority of 

the moderators vote to postpone.  The postponement process for town elections also applies to city 

elections.     
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Statutes Added: RSA 652:16-e; RSA 652:16-f; RSA 652:16-g; RSA 669:1-a; RSA 670:1-a; and RSA 

671:22-a 

Statutes Amended: RSA 40:4, II; RSA 40:13, VII; RSA 44:11; RSA 657:1, I; RSA 657:1, II(a)-(c); 

and RSA 669:1 

Effective Date: July 10, 2019 

 

SB 154 (Chapter 237) establishes a committee to study and make recommendations for legislation 

to create tax incentives for promoting development of dense workforce housing in community 

centers. 

 

Statute Amended: N/A 

Effective Date: July 12, 2019 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE 

 

SB 242 (Chapter 280) addresses concerns relating to the issues raised in the United States 

Supreme Court’s decision in South Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc.  In the wake of Wayfair, it is possible 

that states, or localities within those states, with sales and use taxes, will require New Hampshire 

businesses that do not have a physical presence but remotely sell goods in those states or 

localities to collect and remit their sales and use taxes.  This bill requires a state or locality that 

seeks to determine or impose a sales or use tax liability or collection obligation on a New 

Hampshire business to first provide written notice to the New Hampshire Department of Justice 

(DOJ) at least 45 days before taking any action; encourages New Hampshire businesses to notify 

the DOJ whenever a state or locality requests information for use in determining a sales or use 

tax liability or collection obligation; requires the DOJ to develop a system providing for 

voluntary information sharing and collaboration with New Hampshire businesses, including by 

transmitting periodic bulletins in collaboration with the DRA; and establishes a commission to 

monitor actions concerning the imposition of collection obligations on New Hampshire 

businesses.  The members of the commission include the commissioner of the DRA, or designee.         

 

Statute Added: RSA 78-E 

Effective Date: July 19, 2019 

 

MISCELLANEOUS 

 

SB 29 (Chapter 138) establishes a commission to study acts of violence by the public against 

New Hampshire state employees and to recommend processes and policies to reduce future 

incidents of violence in the workplace.  The members of the commission include the 

commissioner of the DRA, or designee.   

 

Statute Added: RSA 273:28-a 

Effective Date: June 25, 2019 

 

SB 98 (Chapter 230, Sections 5-10) establishes a committee to study the effects of past New 

Hampshire trust code legislation.  The committee’s duties include investigating whether past 

New Hampshire trust legislation is having its desired effect; and whether there is a state revenue 
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opportunity to be generated from the assets which reside within New Hampshire chartered trust 

companies to offset the cost of administration by the state of New Hampshire.   

 

Statute Amended: N/A 

Effective Date: July 12, 2019 

 
 

Individuals who need auxiliary aids for effective communication in programs and services of the 

Department of Revenue Administration are invited to make their needs and preferences known to the 

N.H. Department of Revenue Administration, 109 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301 or by 

contacting them at (603) 230-5920. 

 

 

 


