
FACSIMILE RETURNS ARE NOT ACCEPTED

New Hampshire does not require a taxpayer to file an application for an automatic 7-month extension of time to file provided that
the taxpayer has paid 100% of both the Business Enterprise Tax and the Business Profits Tax determined to be due by the due
date of the tax.

If you need to make an additional payment in order to have paid 100% of the taxes determined to be due, then you may file your
payment on-line at www.revenue.nh.gov or file a payment and application for 7 month extension of time to file a business tax
return, Form BT-EXT. The payment must be postmarked or received on or before the original due date of the return. Failure to
pay 100% of the taxes determined to be due by the original due date may result in the assessment of penalties.

The return filed for the Business Enterprise Tax MUST reflect the identical business entity reported for Business Profits Tax
purposes. There are separate booklets for corporate, combined group, partnership, proprietorship and fiduciary returns.
Non-profit organizations and limited liability companies shall file using the form which corresponds to their entity structure.
LLC’s shall file using the same entity type as they use for their federal tax return.  If a separate federal tax return was not
required, then use the same entity type as the reporting member used.

There are different filing criteria for the Business Enterprise Tax and the Business Profits Tax. You must determine whether or
not you are required to file for each tax independent of your filing requirement  for the other tax. IF YOU ARE REQUIRED TO FILE
EITHER TAX, THEN YOU MUST FILE A BUSINESS TAX SUMMARY. THE BUSINESS TAX SUMMARY VERIFIES AND UPDATES
BOTH THE BUSINESS ENTERPRISE TAX AND/OR THE BUSINESS PROFITS TAX RETURNS. FAILURE TO FILE A BUSINESS
TAX SUMMARY WILL CONSTITUTE AN INCOMPLETE FILING OF THE BUSINESS TAX RETURNS.
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Calendar Year: If the business organization files its federal return on a calendar year basis, then the BET return and/or the
BPT return is/are due and must be postmarked NO LATER than the date indicated on the BPT return.

Fiscal Year: If the business organization files its federal return on a fiscal year basis, then the business organization must file
the BET return and/or the BPT return based on the same taxable period. The corporate returns are due and must be postmarked
NO LATER than the 15th day of the third month following the close of the fiscal period.  The proprietorship, partnership and
fiduciary returns are due the 15th day of the 4th month following the close of the taxable period.

For Non-Profit Organizations: The returns are due and MUST be postmarked NO LATER than the 15th day of the fifth month
following the close of the taxable period.
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Every profit or non-profit enterprise or organization engaged in or carrying on any business activity inside New Hampshire
which meets the following criteria must file a Business Enterprise Tax return:

A.  If your gross receipts total was in excess of $150,000, then you are required to file a BET return, regardless of B below; or

B.  If your gross receipts total was $150,000 or less, use the following worksheet to determine if your enterprise value
     tax base is greater than $75,000:

1. Total dividends paid: 1. $ ____________________

2. Total compensation paid or accrued: 2. $ ____________________

3. Total interest paid or accrued: 3. $ ____________________

4. Sum of Lines 1, 2 and 3: 4. $ ____________________

                                                                               If Line 4 is greater than $75,000, you are required to file a BET return.

C. Section 501(c)(3) of the IRC non-profit organizations are not required to file unless they engage in an unrelated business
activity under Section 513 of IRC.

WHO MUST
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RETURN

All business organizations, including corporations, fiduciaries, partnerships, proprietorships, combined groups, and homeowners’
associations must file a Business Profits Tax return provided they are carrying on business activity inside New Hampshire and
their gross business income from everywhere is in excess of $50,000.

“Gross business income” means all income for federal income tax purposes from whatever source derived including but not
limited to: total sales, total rents, gross proceeds from the sale of assets, etc., before deducting any costs or expenses.  Even
if there is no profit, a return must be filed when the gross business income exceeds $50,000.  Combined filers
should see NH-1120-WE General Instructions for additional filing requirements to file a combined report.

Grantor Trusts: Income from Grantor Trusts (Section 671 of the US Internal Revenue Code) shall be included in the Business
Profits Tax return of the owner(s).

NEED HELP Call the Customer Service Office at (603) 271-2191, Monday through Friday, 8:00 am - 4:30 pm. All written correspondence to
the Department should include the taxpayer name, federal employer identification number or social security number, the name
of a contact person and a daytime telephone number.

NEED
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To obtain additional forms or forms not contained in this booklet, you may access our web site at www.revenue.nh.gov or call
the forms line at (603) 271-2192.  Copies of the state tax forms may also be obtained from  any of the 22 Depository Libraries
located throughout the State.  (See page 2 for a list of Depository Libraries.)
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ADA
COMPLIANCE

Individuals who need auxiliary aids for effective communications in programs and services of the New Hampshire Department of
Revenue Administration are invited to make their needs and preferences known.  Individuals with hearing or speech impairments
may call TDD Access:  Relay NH 1-800-735-2964



FILING
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Please file the applicable schedules in the following order sequence:  BT-Summary, BET, BET-80, Schedule R, BPT return (NH-

1040, NH-1041, NH-1065, or NH-1120), DP-80, DP-2210/2220, DP-132, DP-160, DP-120, and then the appropriate federal pages.

ROUNDING
OFF

Money items on all Business Enterprise Tax and Business Profits Tax forms may be rounded off to the nearest whole dollar.

REFERENCES
TO FEDERAL
FORMS

All references to federal tax forms and form lines are based on draft forms available at the time the state forms were printed. If
the federal line number and description do not match, follow the line description or contact the Department at (603) 271-2191.

Disclosure of federal employer identification numbers and social security numbers is mandatory under New Hampshire Department
of Revenue Administration rules 203.01, 221.02, 221.03.  This information is required for the purpose of administering the tax laws
of this state and authorized by 42 U.S.C.S. § 405 (c) (2) (C) (i).

Tax information which is disclosed to the New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration is held in strict confidence by
law.  The information may be disclosed to the United States Internal Revenue Service, agencies responsible for the administration
of taxes in other states in accordance with compacts for the exchange of information, and as otherwise authorized by New
Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated 21-J:14.

The failure to provide federal employer identification numbers and social security numbers may result in the rejection of a return
or application.  The failure to timely file a return or application complete with social security numbers may result in the imposition
of civil or criminal penalties, the disallowance of claimed exemptions, exclusions, credits, deductions, or an adjustment that may
result in increased tax liability.

All Business Profits Tax returns must be accompanied by a complete and legible copy of the federal income tax return or other
appropriate federal forms, consolidating schedules and supporting schedules. The corporate return must have the federal Form
1120, pages 1, 2, 3 and 4 and all schedules. The proprietorship return must have federal schedules C, D, E, F, Form 4797 and Form
6252, if applicable. The partnership return must have the federal Form 1065, pages 1,2,3, and 4 and applicable schedules. The
fiduciary return must have the federal Form 1041, pages 1, 2, 3 and 4, and applicable schedules.  Failure to attach all federal
schedules as required shall be deemed a failure to file a New Hampshire return and may subject the taxpayer to penalties.
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ESTIMATED
BPT & BET
PAYMENTS

Every entity required to file a Business Profits Tax (BPT) return and/or a Business Enterprise Tax (BET) return must also make
quarterly estimated tax payments for each individual tax for its subsequent taxable period, unless the ANNUAL estimated tax for
the subsequent taxable period for each tax individually is less than $200. However, if at the end of any quarter the estimated tax
for the year exceeds $200, an estimated tax payment must be filed. The quarterly estimates are 25% of the estimated tax liability.
See the instructions with the Estimated Business Profits Tax Form for exceptions and penalties for noncompliance.
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Single Member Limited Liability Companies (SMLLC) shall use Form DP-200 to apply for a New Hampshire Department of Revenue
Administration assigned identification number.  This form shall be filed at least 30 days prior to the filing of any other tax related
document.  SMLLC’s are required by New Hampshire law to file a tax return even though the SMLLC does NOT file a separate
federal tax return.
ALL SMLLC's MUST USE A DEPARTMENT IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (DIN) WHEN FILING ANY AND ALL TAX RELATED
DOCUMENTS.
Your DIN shall be used in place of the entity's federal employer identification number.  When filing all future documents,
the DIN shall be entered wherever federal employer identification numbers or social security numbers are required.

S-CORP
FILERS

New Hampshire treats subchapter “S” corporations as if they were “C” corporations. All S-corporations are required to complete
Form DP-120. Returns filed without a Form DP-120 will be incomplete and may be returned to the taxpayer.  S-corporations who
make actual distributions to New Hampshire resident shareholders are required to file Form DP-9 separately from the return.
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President George W. Bush signed PL 107-147, the "Job Creation and Worker Assistance Act," also known as the Economic Stimulus
package and PL 108-27, Jobs Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2003.  Under the law, there was a change to federal business
taxpayer filings for 2001- 2004 calendar year returns which included bonus depreciations of the cost of capital assets placed in
service between September 10, 2001 and January 1, 2005. (January 1, 2006, for certain assets).

At this time, the New Hampshire Legislature has not changed the current business tax law to conform with the federal tax law
changes.  The Internal Revenue Code (IRC) reference remains the Code in effect on December 31, 2000.  Therefore, if these
changes are used on your federal filing, business taxpayers must recalculate their New Hampshire gross business profits.  Since,
under current New Hampshire law, the bonus depreciation and the additional IRC Section 179 expense is not allowable, business
taxpayers will have to adjust the taxable income reported on their federal return before reporting their gross business profits on their
New Hampshire business tax return.  The adjustment will require the removal of the federal depreciation and IRC Section 179 expense
authorized under the "Job Creation and Worker Assistance Act" and only allow depreciation and IRC Section 179 expense as provided
under the IRC in effect on December 31, 2000.

Schedule R has been provided in this booklet for each business entity to assist in recalculating their New Hampshire Gross Business
Profits.  The completed Schedule R should be filed with the corresponding New Hampshire Business Tax return.

If you discover an error was made on your BET and/or BPT return(s) after they were filed, amended returns should be promptly
filed by completing a corrected Form BT-SUMMARY and the appropriate BET and/or BPT returns.  You should check the “AMENDED”
block in STEP 2 on the Business Tax Summary.  AMENDED RETURNS MUST HAVE ALL APPLICABLE SCHEDULES AND FEDERAL
PAGES ATTACHED TO BE DEEMED A COMPLETE AMENDED RETURN.  For changes made by the Internal Revenue Service for
this year, please see STEP 2 on the Business Tax Summary.

If you need to amend prior year BET and/or BPT return(s) and you need forms, you may access our web site at www.revenue.nh.gov
or please call the forms line at (603) 271-2192.

You may not file an amended return for New Hampshire Net Operating Loss (NOL) carryback provisions.


