

www.nh.gov/revenue

NEW HAMPSHIRE

2010

Interest and Dividends Tax Booklet RSA 77 and Rev 900

This booklet contains the following New Hampshire state tax forms and instructions for filing the Interest and Dividends Tax return, extension, and estimates.

FORM	PAGE
DP-59-A	2
DP-10	3
DP-2210/2220	11
DP-10-ES	12

Return due date for calendar year filers: April 18, 2011

IMPORTANT MESSAGE REGARDING TAX BOOKLETS:

Due to increased printing costs and postage fees, this may be the last year that tax booklets will be automatically mailed to you. Forms may be downloaded for free from our web site at www.nh.gov/revenue/forms or ordered by telephone at (603) 271-2192. If you do not have access to the Internet and want to be added to our permanent mailing list to receive the forms contained in this booklet without having to call the forms line every year, please send your name and address in a written request to Interest and Dividends Tax Forms, NH DRA, PO Box 1004, Concord, NH 03302-1004.

E-FILE DRA

Taxpayers can make estimate, extension, notice of assessment, and return payments on the Internet for Interest and Dividends Tax, Business Profits Tax, Business Enterprise Tax and Meals & Rentals Tax. Interest and Dividends Tax Returns may also be filed electronically. For more information, please visit our web site at www.nh.gov/revenue.

NEW FOR 2010:

<u>Civil Unions Recognized as a Marriage.</u> Effective January 1, 2010 the NH laws were modified to allow civil unions to be recognized as a marriage solemnized pursuant to RSA 457. Two persons who are parties to a civil union established pursuant to RSA 457-A that has not been dissolved or annulled by the parties or merged into a marriage by January 1, 2011 shall be deemed to be married under RSA 457 on January 1, 2011 and such civil union shall be merged into such marriage by operation of law on January 1, 2011.

<u>Failure to Pay by Electronic Means.</u> Effective August 13, 2010 the NH Legislature expanded RSA 21-J:33 by inserting section III. This new provision states that in the case of any failure to comply with the electronic payment requirements under RSA 21-J:3, XXI, a penalty shall be added to the amount of tax due equal to 5 percent of the amount of such tax not to exceed \$5,000. This penalty is in addition to any other penalty that may be applicable and shall be assessed, collected, and paid in the same manner as taxes. The penalty in this paragraph shall not apply if failure to pay was due to reasonable cause and not willful neglect of the taxpayer.

<u>Check 21:</u> When you provide a check as payment, you authorize the State of New Hampshire to either use the information from your check to make a one-time electronic fund transfer from your account or to process the payment as a check. For inquiries, call 603-271-2191.

ESTIMATE: Everyone required to file an Interest and Dividends Tax Return must also make Estimated Interest and Dividends Tax payments for its subsequent taxable period, unless the annual estimated tax for the subsequent taxable period is less than \$500. However, quarterly payments are required to be made whenever your **annual** estimated tax for the subsequent taxable period equals or exceeds \$500.

EXTENSION: An **automatic** 7-month extension of time to file the Interest and Dividends Tax return will be granted **if you pay 100%** of the taxes determined to be due by the due date of the tax. If an additional payment is necessary in order to have paid 100% of the taxes determined to be due, you may make your 100% payment on-line or file it with Form DP-59-A, Extension Application for Interest and Dividends Tax.

TAX RATE: The current tax rate on interest and dividends income is 5%.

INTEREST RATE: Effective January 1, 2011 through December 31, 2011, the interest due on taxes administered by the New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration is **6%**. Interest is calculated on the balance of tax due from the original due date of the tax to the date the tax is paid. For interest rates in prior years see instructions.

NEED FORMS: Copies of forms, laws and administrative rules may be obtained from our web site at www.nh.gov/revenue or by visiting any New Hampshire Depository Library or the New Hampshire State Library, 20 Park Street, Concord, NH 03301, where copies of forms, laws, and rules can be made for a fee. Forms may be ordered by calling our forms line at (603) 271-2192.

NEED HELP: This booklet contains general information to assist you in complying with your tax obligation. Rules, laws and answers to Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) are available 24 hours a day from our web site at www.nh.gov/revenue. If you have any questions please contact our Central Taxpayer Services at (603) 271-2191.

Individuals who need auxiliary aids for effective communication in programs and services of the New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration are invited to make their needs and preferences known to the New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration at (603) 271-2318. Individuals with hearing or speech impairments may call TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964.

NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION PAYMENT FORM AND APPLICATION FOR 7 MONTH EXTENSION OF TIME TO FILE INTEREST AND DIVIDENDS TAX RETURN

TO MAKE YOUR PAYMENT ONLINE ACCESS E-FILE AT www.nh.gov/revenue

FOR DRAUSE ONLY

DO NOT FILE THIS FORM IF LINE 3 IS ZERO. THIS IS NOT AN EXTENSION OF TIME TO PAY

AUTOMATIC EXTENSION

If you have paid 100% of the tax determined to be due by the due date of the tax you will be granted an automatic 7-month extension to file your New Hampshire Interest and Dividends Tax return WITHOUT filing this form or a copy of your federal extension. The fastest way to make your 100% extension payment is to file on-line by accessing our web site at <u>www.nh.gov/revenue</u>.

If you meet this requirement, you may file your New Hampshire Interest and Dividends Tax return up to 7 months beyond the original due date and you will not be subject to the late filing penalty. Note that an extension of time to file your return is not an extension of time to pay the tax.

WHO MUST FILE

If you need to make an additional payment in order to have paid 100% of the tax determined to be due by the due date of the tax, then you must complete this form and submit with payment to be granted an extension of time to file your New Hampshire Interest and Dividends Tax return. You may also make your payment electronically by accessing our web site at www.nh.gov/revenue. Do not file this form if Net Balance Due is zero.

RECOGNITION OF CIVIL UNION AS MARRIAGE

Effective January 1, 2010 the NH laws were modified to allow civil unions to be recognized as a marriage solemnized pursuant to RSA 457. Two persons who are parties to a civil union established pursuant to RSA 457-A that has not been dissolved or annulled by the parties or merged into a marriage by January 1, 2011 shall be deemed to be married under RSA 457 on January 1, 2011 and such civil union shall be merged into such marriage by operation of law on January 1, 2011.

WHEN TO FILE

This form must be postmarked on or before the original due date of the return. Electronic payments must be received before midnight on the due date of the return.

WHERE TO FILE

NH DRA, PO Box 2072, Concord, NH 03302-2072.

REASONS FOR DENIAL

Applications for extensions will be rejected for reasons such as, but not limited to, the application was postmarked after the due date for filing the return, the payment for the balance due shown on Line 3 above did not accompany this application, or the payment was not made electronically before midnight on the due date of the return.

NEED HELP?

Call Central Taxpaver Services at (603) 271-2191. Individuals who need auxiliary aids for effective communications in programs and services of the New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration are invited to make their needs and preferences known. Individuals with hearing or speech impairments may call TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964.

STEP 1: NAME & IDENTIFICATION NUMBERS

In the spaces provided below, enter the beginning and ending dates of the taxable period if different from the calendar year.

PRINT the taxpayer's name, address, Social Security Number (SSN), Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN), or Department Identification Number (DIN) in the spaces provided.

Enter spouse's name and SSN in the spaces provided. SSNs are required pursuant to the authority granted by 42 U.S.C.S., Section 405. Wherever SSNs or FEINs are required, taxpayers who have been issued a DIN, shall use their DIN only, and not SSN or FEIN.

For the CALENDA	R year 2010 or other taxable period I	beginning and and	d ending Mo Day Year					
ENTITY TYPE Ch	ENTITY TYPE Check one of the following: 1 Individual/Joint 3 Partnership 4 Fiduciary							
LAST NAME		FIRST NAME & INITIAL	SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER	_				
SPOUSE'S LAST NAME		FIRST NAME & INITIAL	SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER	_				
NAME OF PARTNERSH	P, ESTATE, TRUST OR LLC		FEDERAL EMPLOYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER	_				
NUMBER & STREET AD	DRESS		DEPARTMENT IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (DIN)	_				
ADDRESS (Continued)			If required to use DIN, do not use SSN or FEIN	1				
CITY/TOWN, STATE & Z	IP CODE			_				
100% PAYMENT IS DUE ON OR	1 Enter 100% of the Interest and Div	ividend Tax determined to be due	1					
BEFORE THE DUE DATE OF	2(a) Enter credit carried over from prior tax period and payments 2(a) of estimated tax		2(a)					
THE TAX	2(b) Enter payment made electronical	ally, if applicable	2(b)					
FOR DRA USE ONLY	2 Total advance payments and cred	edits [Line 2(a) plus Line 2(b)]	. 2					
	3 NET BALANCE DUE: (Line 1 mir	inus Line 2)	.PAY THIS AMOUNT→					

MAIL NH DRA PO BOX 2072 CONCORD NH 03302-2072

MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO: STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE. ENCLOSE, BUT DO NOT STAPLE OR TAPE YOUR PAYMENT TO THIS EXTENSION.

Go to our web site at www.nh.gov/revenue and make your payment electronically and you will not have to file this form.



FORM

NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION

INTEREST AND DIVIDENDS TAX RETURN

041

EOR DRATICE ONLY

STEP 1	LAST NAME FIRST NAME		/IE & INIT	TAL	s	OCIAL SECU	RITY NUMBER			
Print or Type	SPC	USE'S LAST NAME	FIRST NAM	/IE & INIT	IAL	S	SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER			
Check box if there	NAM	E OF PARTNERSHIP, TRUST, ESTATE, OR LLC						NTIFICATION NUMBER		
has been a	NUM	BER & STREET ADDRESS								
name change since	ADD	RESS (CONTINUED)								
last filing	CITY	//TOWN, STATE & ZIP CODE								
STEP 2 Return Type & Alternate Address	EN'	TITY TYPE - CHECK ONE: 1 Individual 1 Joint 3 Partnership 4 Fiduciary			% of NEW HAM Initial Return Final Return		Ownership y Year	Interest in Fiduciary Established NH Abandoned NH	Residenc	
	TAX	FORMS MAILING ADDRESS, CITY/TOWN, STATE & ZIP CODE:	:		Final Deceased Amended Return:	DO NOT	use this for	. SSN		
STEP 3	COI	MPLETE THE SECOND PAGE OF THIS RETURN	N BEFORI	E PRO	CEEDING TO STEI	P 4				
STEP 4	10	Net Taxable Income (from Line 9)				-	10			
Figure Your Tax, Credits.	11	New Hampshire Interest and Dividends Tax (Line 10 multiplied by 5%)					11			
Interest and Penalties	12	Payments: (a) Tax paid with Application for Extension		12(a)						
		(b) Payments from current tax period Estimate	ted Tax	12(b)						
		(c) Credit carryover from prior tax period		12(c)						
		(d) Paid with original return (Amended returns	s only)	12(d)			12			
	13	Tax Due (Line 11 minus Line 12)					13			
	14	Additions to Tax: (a) Interest		14(a)						
		(b) Failure to Pay		14(b)			-			
		(c) Failure to File		14(c) 14(d)			14			
STEP 5	15	(d) Underpayment of Estimated Tax (a) Subtotal Due (Line 13 plus Line 14)		14(u) 15(a)			14			
Figure	13	(b) Return Payment Made Electronically		13(a)			15(b)			
Your Net Balance Due or	15	Net Balance Due [Line 15(a) minus Line 15(b)] (Make Check Payable to State of New Hampshir	re)	P	AY THIS AMOU	JNT -				
Overpay- ment	16	OVERPAYMENT (If balance due is less than zero, enter on Line 10	6)	16						
	17	Amount of Line 16 to be applied to: (a) Credit - Next Year's Tax Liability			DO NOT I	ΡΔΥ -	17(a)			
Į		(b) Refund (Allow 12 weeks for processing	g)		20 1101 1		17(b)			
R DRA USE ONLY	•	Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have (If prepared by a person other than the taxpaye POA: By checking this box and signing bell	er, this ded	claratio	n is based on all inf	ormatio	n of which	the preparer has k	nowledg	
		Signature (in ink)	D	ate	Preparer's Tax Identific	cation Nun	nber	Preparer's Telephone N	umber	
		If joint return, BOTH parties must sign, even if only one had in Filing as surviving spouse Form 1310 atta		ate	Signature (in ink) of P Printed Name of Prepa		er		Date	
		Print Signatory Name & Title if Fiduciary/Trust NH DRA			Preparer's Address					

DP-10 Page 2

NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION

INTEREST AND DIVIDENDS TAX RETURN

STEP 3 Read Instructions before you begin

Enitry Codes: 2 = S-CORPORATIONS; 3 = PARTNERSHIPS; 4 = TRUSTS OR ESTATES; 5 = LLC; 6 = OTHER III	SIE	Tread mistractions before you begin.							
(a) Interest Income. Enter the amount from Line 8(a) of your federal return				FROM ALL SOURCES	Total				
(b) Dividend Income. Enter the amount from Line 9(a) of your federal return (c) Federal Tax Exempt Interest income. Enter the amount from Line 8(b) of your federal return (d) Subtotal Interest and Dividends Income. [Sum of Lines 4(a), 1(b) and 1(c)] 2 List Taxable Annuittes or Actual Cash & Property Distributions From S-Corporations, Trusts/Estates, Partnerships, and LLCs: Entity Codes: 2 = S-CORPORATIONS; 3 = PARTNERSHIPS; 4 = TRUSTS OR ESTATES; 5 = LLC; 6 = OTHER		,	1(a)						
(c) Federal Tax Exempt Interest Income. Enter the amount from Line 8(b) of your federal return	` '								
(d) Subtotal Interest and Dividends Income. [Sum of Lines 1(a), 1(b) and 1(c)]	(b) L	Dividend Income. Enter the amount from Line s	9(a) of your federal retur	'n	1(b)				
2 List Taxable Annulities or Actual Cash & Property Distributions From S-Corporations. Trusts/Estates, Partnerships, and LLCs: Entity Codes: 2 = S-CORPORATIONS: 3 = PARTNERSHIPS; 4 = TRUSTS OR ESTATES; 5 = LLC: 6 = OTHER III	(c) F	ederal Tax Exempt Interest Income. Enter the	amount from Line 8(b)	of your federal return	1(c)				
Enitry Codes: 2 = S-CORPORATIONS; 3 = PARTNERSHIPS; 4 = TRUSTS OR ESTATES; 5 = LLC; 6 = OTHER III	(d) S	Subtotal Interest and Dividends Income. [Sum of	of Lines 1(a), 1(b) and 1	(c)]Subtota	Il 1(d)				
INTERPRETATION PAWER'S IDENTIFICATION DISTRIBUTION AMOUNT	2 List	Taxable Annuities or Actual Cash & Property	Distributions From S-C	orporations, Trusts/Estates	, Partnerships, and LLCs:				
ENTITY NAME OF PAVER PAVERS IDENTIFICATION DISTRBUTION AMOUNT	En	tity Codes: 2 = S-CORPORATIONS; 3 = PAR	TNERSHIPS; 4 = TRUS	STS OR ESTATES; 5 = LL	C; 6 = OTHER				
2 Total Distributions (Sum of Column IV above)			PAYER'S IDENTIFICATION						
2 Total Distributions (Sum of Column IV above)									
2 Total Distributions (Sum of Column IV above)									
2 Total Distributions (Sum of Column IV above)									
2 Total Distributions (Sum of Column IV above)									
2 Total Distributions (Sum of Column IV above)									
3 Subtotal Gross Interest and Dividends Income and Distributions [Line 1(d) plus Line 2]		Total from supplemer	ntai schedule attached						
A return is required if Gross Interest and Dividends exceeds \$2400. List payers and amounts of interest and/or dividends NOT TAXABLE to New Hampshire included on Lines 1(a), 1(b), 1(c) and/or 2: REASON	2 To	al Distributions (Sum of Column IV above)	2						
A return is required if Gross Interest and Dividends exceeds \$2400. List payers and amounts of interest and/or dividends NOT TAXABLE to New Hampshire included on Lines 1(a), 1(b), 1(c) and/or 2: REASON	2 0	htetal Casas International Dividends Income	المام و من المام و	Oukto					
REASON CODE NAME OF PAYER PAYER'S DENTIFICATION NUMBER NON-TAXABLE AMOUNT NON-TAXA) plus Line 2] Subto	otai 3				
REASON CODE NAME OF PAYER PAYERS IDENTIFICATION NUMBER NON-TAXABLE AMOUNT (a) Subtotal of non-taxable income above (Sum of Column IV)	4 Lis	t payers and amounts of interest and/or divide	nds NOT TAXABLE to N	lew Hampshire included on	Lines 1(a), 1(b), 1(c) and/or 2:				
(b) Total non-taxable income from supplemental schedule (attached) .4(b) (c) Non-taxable income subtotal of Lines 4(a) plus 4(b)			PAYER'S IDENTIFICATION						
(b) Total non-taxable income from supplemental schedule (attached) .4(b) (c) Non-taxable income subtotal of Lines 4(a) plus 4(b)									
(b) Total non-taxable income from supplemental schedule (attached) .4(b) (c) Non-taxable income subtotal of Lines 4(a) plus 4(b)									
(b) Total non-taxable income from supplemental schedule (attached) .4(b) (c) Non-taxable income subtotal of Lines 4(a) plus 4(b)									
(b) Total non-taxable income from supplemental schedule (attached) .4(b) (c) Non-taxable income subtotal of Lines 4(a) plus 4(b)									
(b) Total non-taxable income from supplemental schedule (attached) .4(b) (c) Non-taxable income subtotal of Lines 4(a) plus 4(b)									
(b) Total non-taxable income from supplemental schedule (attached) .4(b) (c) Non-taxable income subtotal of Lines 4(a) plus 4(b)									
(c) Non-taxable income subtotal of Lines 4(a) plus 4(b)	(a) Su	btotal of non-taxable income above (Sum of Co	olumn IV)4(a						
(d) Part-year resident non-taxable income pro rata share	(b) Tot	al non-taxable income from supplemental sche	edule (attached).4(b)						
4 Total Non-Taxable Income [Sum of Line 4(c) plus Line 4(d)]	(c) No	n-taxable income subtotal of Lines 4(a) plus 4((b)4(c)						
4 Total Non-Taxable Income [Sum of Line 4(c) plus Line 4(d)]	(d) Pa	rt-year resident non-taxable income pro rata sl	nare4(d)						
5 Gross Taxable Income (Line 3 minus Line 4)	4 To								
7 Adjusted Taxable Income (Line 5 minus Line 6) If less than zero, enter amount in parenthesis	5 Gr	oss Taxable Income (Line 3 minus Line 4)			5				
Blind Spouse 65 (or over) or disabled Year of birth Year of birth X 1,200= 8 Net Taxable Income (Line 7 minus Line 8) If less than zero, enter amount in parenthesis	6 Le								
8 Check the exemptions that apply. Multiply the total number of boxes checked above x 1,200= 8 9 Net Taxable Income (Line 7 minus Line 8) If less than zero, enter amount in parenthesis	7 Ad	justed Taxable Income (Line 5 minus Line 6) If	less than zero, enter ar	mount in parenthesis	7				
8 Check the exemptions that apply. Multiply the total number of boxes checked above x 1,200= 8 9 Net Taxable Income (Line 7 minus Line 8) If less than zero, enter amount in parenthesis		Blind Spouse 65 (or over) or disabled Spouse 65 (or over) or disabled							
	8 Ch								
		t Taxable Income (Line 7 minus Line 8) If less ter Line 9 amount on Page 1, Step 4, Line 10.	s than zero, enter amour	nt in parenthesis	9				



FORM DP-10 Instructions

NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION

INTEREST AND DIVIDENDS TAX RETURN GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

WHO IS TAXABLE

Taxable income is that income received from interest and dividends during the tax year prior to the assessment date by:

(a) Individuals who are inhabitants or residents of this state for any part of the taxable year whose gross interest and dividend income from all sources, including income from a qualified investment company pursuant to RSA 77:4, V, exceeds \$2,400 during that taxable period.

(b) Trusts, Partnerships and Limited Liability Companies (LLCs) beneficial interest in which is not represented by transferable shares, whose gross interest and dividend income from all sources exceeds \$2,400 during the taxable year, but not including a qualified investment company as defined in RSA 77-A:1, XXI, or a trust comprising a part of an employee benefit plan, as defined in the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, section 3.

Partnerships are taxable if their shares are non-transferable.

(c) Fiduciaries deriving their appointment from a court of this state whose gross interest and dividend income from all sources exceeds \$2,400 during the taxable year.

WHO MUST FILE A RETURN

INDIVIDUALS: Individuals who are residents or inhabitants of New Hampshire for any part of the tax year must file providing they received more than \$2,400 of gross interest and/or dividend income for a single individual or \$4,800 of such income for a married couple filing a joint New Hampshire return. (Part-year residents see below.)

PARTNERSHIPS, LLCs, TRUSTS AND FIDUCIARIES: See separate Quick Checklist in this booklet regarding "WHO" and "WHAT" is taxable.

JOINT FILERS: To ensure your payments are credited to your account, the sequence of names and social security numbers must be consistent on all Interest and Dividends Tax estimates, extensions and returns

NH RESIDENT/INHABITANT: To determine if you are a NH resident/ inhabitant, refer to the Department's administrative rules, NH Admin. Rules, Chapter Rev 900. Factors include, but are not limited to: Do you maintain a home, spending a greater percent of time in New Hampshire than elsewhere; Have you advised a state or local agency you are a resident/ inhabitant; Are you registered to vote in New Hampshire; Are you licensed to drive in New Hampshire.

PART YEAR RESIDENT: For New Hampshire Interest and Dividends Tax purposes, a "part year resident" is someone who has permanently established residency in New Hampshire during the year or who has permanently abandoned residency in New Hampshire during the year.

If you **established** residency after January 1st of this tax period check the "Initial Return" box and enter the date of residency in Step 2. If you abandoned residency during the year, check the "Final Return" box and enter the date in Step 2.

A temporary absence for any length of time does not change your state of residency. If you are unsure whether you are a resident of New Hampshire, call the Central Taxpayer Services (603) 271-2191, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Only the interest and dividend income earned during that portion of the year for which they were a New Hampshire resident is taxable. Part-year residents are entitled to the full \$2,400 exemption (or \$4,800 for joint filers) and the full amount for the exemptions shown on Line 8 of the return. Part-year residents must file a return if, during the entire year, their adjusted taxable income was over \$2,400 (or over \$4,800 for joint filers).

WHEN TO FILE

Calendar Year: If your return is based on a calendar year, it must be postmarked on or before April 15th, unless the 15th is a weekend or a recognized State holiday, it will be due on the next business day. Fiscal Year: If your return is based on a taxable period other than a calendar year, it must be postmarked on or before the 15th day of the fourth month following the end of your taxable period.

WHERE TO FILE

MAIL TO: NH DRA (NH DEPT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION) PO BOX 2072 CONCORD NH 03302-2072

FORMS MAY NOT BE FILED BY FAX

EXTENSION TO FILE

New Hampshire does not require taxpayers to file an application for an automatic 7-month extension of time to file provided that the taxpayer has paid 100% of the Interest and Dividends Tax determined to be due by the due date of the tax.

If you need to make an additional payment, you may file a Form DP-59-A Extension Form along with the payment or e-file your payment on-line at www.nh.gov/revenue. This application and payment must be postmarked on or before the due date of the tax. Failure to pay 100% of the tax due by the original due date will result in the assessment of interest and may result in the assessment of penalties. You are not required to attach a copy of your federal extension to your return.

CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION

Tax information which is disclosed to the New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration is held in strict confidence by law. The information may be disclosed to the United States Internal Revenue Service, agencies responsible for the administration of taxes in other states in accordance with compacts for the exchange of information, and as otherwise authorized by New Hampshire RSA 21-J:14.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS

Disclosure of social security numbers is mandatory under Department of Revenue Administration rule Rev 2903.02. This information is required for the purpose of administering the tax laws of this state and authorized by 42 U.S.C.S. § 405 (c)(2)(C)(i).

The failure to provide social security numbers may result in a rejection of a document. The failure to timely file a document complete with social security numbers may result in the imposition of civil or criminal penalties, the disallowance of claimed exemptions, exclusions, credits, deductions or adjustments that may result in increased tax liability.

AMENDED RETURNS

If you discover an error was made on your return after it has been filed, an amended New Hampshire return should be promptly filed by completing a corrected Form DP-10 and by checking the "AMENDED" box in Step 2 on the return. New Hampshire does not have a separate form for amended returns.

ROUNDING

Money items on all Interest and Dividends Tax forms may be rounded off to the nearest whole dollar.

REPORT OF CHANGE (ROC)

To report a change to your Interest and Dividends Tax Return for years 1994 to present, (which resulted from a federal audit) file a separate report of change, Form DP-87ID, for each year. To report a change for taxable periods prior to 1994 contact the Department for the appropriate forms and instructions. To file a report of change on an Interest and Dividends Tax return, you will need to use the federal adjustment and a copy of your return as originally filed or previously adjusted. When filing the completed DP-87ID, you must sign in ink and include the IRS form reporting the change. Follow the line by line instructions when filling out the report of change. An incomplete Report of Change will not be accepted.

NEED FORMS?

To obtain additional forms or forms not contained in this booklet, you may visit our web site at www.nh.gov/revenue or call (603) 271-2192.

NEED HELP?

Call Central Taxpayer Services at (603) 271-2191, Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 4:30 pm. All written correspondence to the Department should include the taxpayer name, federal employer identification number, department identification number or social security number, the name of a contact person and a daytime telephone number.

[pg 5] DP-10 Instructions



NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION INTEREST AND DIVIDENDS TAX RETURN **LINE-BY-LINE INSTRUCTIONS**

REASON

STFP 1

At the top of the return enter the beginning and ending dates of the taxable period if different from the calendar year.

PRINT the taxpayer's name, address, Social Security Number (SSN), Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN), or Department Identification Number (DIN) in the spaces provided.

Enter spouse's name and SSN in the spaces provided if filing a joint return. SSNs are required pursuant to the authority granted by 42 U.S.C.S., Section 405. Wherever SSNs or FEINs are required, taxpayers who have been issued a DIN, shall use their DIN only, and not SSN or FEIN.

Check one box to indicate entity type. If a trust or fiduciary return, enter the percentage of New Hampshire beneficiaries.

Check the appropriate box(es) that apply and enter the date of the event. If "Final Deceased", enter the date of death and the SSN of the deceased. If the taxpayer or spouse is deceased and the Interest and Dividends Tax return results in an overpayment to be refunded, Form NH-1310 may be required to issue the refund to someone other than the deceased party. Form NH-1310 is available on the web at www.nh.gov/revenue. For NH-1310 should be completed and attached to the return if applicable.

Forms mailing information: If you will not be at your New Hampshire mailing address when the forms are mailed on approximately January 2nd and if you would like forms mailed to a winter address, provide the alternate address in the space provided. This address will be used for form mailing purposes only.



STEP 3 Complete the second page of this return before proceeding to Step 4.

LINE 1(a) INTEREST INCOME: Enter on Line 1(a) ALL interest income. For individual and joint filers the amount to be reported on Line 1(a) is from Line 8(a) of IRS Form 1040 or 1040A. For partnerships, trusts and fiduciary filers, the amount to be reported on Line 1(a) is the total of all interest income reported on your federal return. If you are not required to file a federal return, enter your interest as reported on your 1099's. NOTE: All interest income which is not taxable to New Hampshire will be deducted on Line 4.

LINE 1(b) DIVIDEND INCOME: Enter on Line 1(b) ALL ordinary dividend income. For individual and joint filers the amount to be reported on Line 1(b) is from Line 9(a) of IRS Form 1040 or 1040A. If you are not required to file a federal return, enter your dividend income as reported on your 1099. NOTE: All dividend income which is not taxable to New Hampshire will be deducted on Line 4.

LINE 1(c) FEDERAL TAX-EXEMPT INTEREST INCOME: Enter on Line 1(c) the amount of ALL federally tax-exempt interest income. For individuals and joint filers, the amount is from IRS Form 1040 or 1040A, Line 8 (b). Unless specifically exempt by New Hampshire law, all federally tax-exempt interest income is taxable to New Hampshire. NOTE: All federal tax-exempt interest income that is not taxable to New Hampshire will be deducted on Line 4.

LINE 1(d) Enter the subtotal of Lines 1(a), 1(b) and 1(c).

LINE 2 DISTRIBUTIONS SUBJECT TO THE NEW HAMPSHIRE INTEREST AND DIVIDENDS TAX: In column I, enter the entity code number which represents the type of entity of the payer. See the box below for ENTITY TYPE CODES. In column II, enter the name of the payer. In column III, enter the payer's SSN or FEIN, if known. In column IV, enter the total amount of cash or property distribution received or constructively received. This amount may not correspond to any line on your Federal Form 1040 or your Federal Schedule K-1. NOTE: This is not a tax on pass-through portfolio income, gains or losses from a Federal Schedule K-1. Therefore, do not include any pass-through gains or losses from Federal Schedule K-1. LINE 2 DISTRIBUTIONS SUBJECT TO THE NEW HAMPSHIRE or losses from Federal Schedule K-1.

List on Line 2 any taxable annuities or the actual cash or property distributions you received or constructively received from "S" corporations, partnerships or LLCs, trusts or estates with transferable shares. These distributions are subject to tax in New Hampshire as a "dividend". (Transferable means that you can freely transfer your shares without causing a dissolution of the organization or without prior approval of the other members.) Taxable annuities are those annuities not invested in a tax-deferred investment plan pursuant to RSA 77:4-b. ALL NONTAXABLE INCOME WILL BE DEDUCTED ON LINE 4.

Entity Code	2	3	4	5	6
Entity Type	S-Corporations	Partnerships	Trusts or Estates	LLCs	Other

LINE 3 GROSS INTEREST AND DIVIDENDS INCOME & DISTRIBU-

TIONS: Enter the sum of Line 1(d) plus Line 2. See Quick Checklist in this booklet for examples of taxable and nontaxable income sources.

LINE 4 INTEREST AND DIVIDENDS INCOME NOT TAXABLE TO NEW HAMPSHIRE: In column I, enter the reason code number which corresponds to the reason the income is not subject to the Interest and Dividends Tax. (See the box below for reason codes.) In column II, enter the name of the payer. In column III, enter the payer's social security number or federal identification number, if known. In column IV enter the non-taxable amount. These items should only be deducted if they were included on Lines 1(a), 1(b), 1(c) or 2.

REASON

CODE	
1 2	Direct US government obligations. New Hampshire municipal bond.
3	Long or short term capital gains included in Line 3.
4	Individual retirement account/Keogh plans/other exempt retirement plans.
5	Liquidating distributions.
6	100% of K-1 interest or dividend income from a partnership/trust with non-transferable shares which is subject to I&D
	tax.
7	A portion of interest or dividend income from a partnership/ trust with non-transferable shares which is not subject to I&D tax.
8 9	Allocation to non-New Hampshire residents. Specifically exempted Puerto Rico, Guam and Virgin Island bonds.
10	Distributive share of the entity's interest or dividend income indicated on Schedule K-1 and included in the partner, beneficiary or shareholder's federal income tax return.
11	Return of capital.

Line 4(d) PART-YEAR RESIDENT NON-TAXABLE PRO RATA SHARE: A part-year resident is a resident who established or abandoned residency during the year. Part-year residents may prorate interest and dividends income. Individuals filing as part-year residents may deduct the amount

of taxable income earned while not a resident of New Hampshire. To determine the annual taxable income for the prorata share calculation subtract Line 4(c), from the subtotal of non-taxable income, on Line 3, then apply the following calculation to that figure to determine the amount to enter on Line 4(d), part-year resident pro rata share.

Annual taxable income x <u>number of days a Non-New Hampshire Resident</u> 365 days of the year

Enter the total of Line 4(c) plus Line 4(d) on Line 4.

LINE 5 GROSS TAXABLE INCOME: Enter the amount of Line 3 minus Line 4.

To figure your Net Taxable Income, complete Lines 6 through 9.

Enter the income exemption. \$2,400 for individual, partnerships, LLCs, fiduciary or trust, or \$4,800, for joint filer.

LINE 7 Calculate your Adjusted Taxable Income, Line 5 minus Line 6.

LINE 8 Check the exemptions that apply. Multiply the number of boxes checked by \$1,200 and enter the result.

Calculate the Net Taxable Income by subtracting Line 8 from Line 7.

[pg 6] DP-10 Instructions

INTEREST AND DIVIDENDS TAX RETURN

LINE-BY-LINE INSTRUCTIONS (continued)

STEP 4

FORM DP-10

Instructions

LINE 10 Enter the amount from, Line 9.

LINE 11 Figure your Interest and Dividends Tax by multiplying Line 10 by 5% (.05), if Line 10 is a positive number. If Line 10 is a negative number, enter zero on Line 11.

LINE 12 Enter your payments on Lines 12(a) through 12(d). Enter the sum of your payments on Line 12.

LINE 13 Calculate the balance of the tax due (Line 11 minus Line 12). Enter the remainder, balance of tax due, on Line 13.

LINE 14 Calculate your interest and penalties, if any, as follows, and enter them on Lines 14(a) through 14(d). Enter sum of interest and penalties on Line 14.

(a) INTEREST: Interest is calculated on the balance of tax due from the original due date to the date paid at the applicable rate listed below. Tax due x number of days from due date to date tax was paid x daily rate decimal equivalent.

Х		x . =	=
Tax Due	Number of days	Daily decimal	Interest due
		rate equivalent	[Enter on Line 14(a)]
(see below	for applicable rates	(;)	

NOTE: The interest rate is recomputed each year under the provisions of RSA 21-J:28, II. Applicable rates are as follows:

PERIOD	<u>RATE</u>	DAILY RATE DECIMAL
		<u>EQUIVALENT</u>
1/1/2011 - 12/31/2011	6%	.000164
1/1/2010 - 12/31/2010	6%	.000164
1/1/2009 - 12/31/2009	7%	.000192
1/1/2008 - 12/31/2008	10%	.000273
1/1/2007 - 12/31/2007	10%	.000274

Contact the Department for applicable rates for any other tax periods.

- (b) FAILURE TO PAY: A penalty equal to 10% of any nonpayment or underpayment of taxes shall be imposed if the taxpayer fails to pay the tax when due. If the failure to pay is due to fraud, the penalty shall be 50% of the amount of the nonpayment or underpayment.
- (c) FAILURE TO FILE: A taxpayer failing to timely file a complete return may be subject to a penalty equal to 5% of the tax due for each month or part thereof that the return remains unfiled or incomplete. The total amount of this penalty shall not exceed 25% of the balance of tax due. Calculate this penalty starting from the original due date of the return until the date a complete return is filed.
- (d) UNDERPAYMENT PENALTY: If your tax is more than \$500 you are required to make estimated tax payments during the tax year. To calculate your penalty for nonpayment or underpayment of estimated tax or to determine if you qualify for an exception from making estimated payments, complete and attach Form DP-2210/2220. Form DP-2210/2220 may be obtained from our web site at www.nh.gov/revenue or by calling the Department of Revenue Administration forms line at (603) 271-2192.

NOTE: Taxpayers who substantially understate their tax may be assessed a penalty by the Department in the amount of 25% of any underpayment of the tax resulting from such understatement. There is a substantial understatement of tax if the amount of the understatement exceeds 10% of the tax required to be shown on the return or \$5,000.

STEP 5

LINE 15(a) Enter the subtotal of amount due. (Line 13 plus Line 14).

LINE 15(b) Enter the amount of any return payment made electronically.

LINE 15 Calculate your net balance due. Line 15(a) minus Line 15(b). Enter the result on Line 15. Make check or money order payable to: State of New Hampshire. Payment must accompany the return; HOWEVER, ENCLOSE, BUT DO NOT STAPLE OR TAPE YOUR PAYMENT TO **THE RETURN.** To ensure your check is credited to your account, put your SSN or FEIN number on the check. Pay your taxes online at www. nh.gov/revenue.

You may file this return online by logging on to www.nh.gov/revenue. If the net balance due is less than \$1.00, do not pay but still file the return. If you file online, you do not need to mail the return to NH DRA.

LINE 16 If the total payments (Line 12, plus Line 15(b) are greater than total tax (Line 11 and Line 14) then you have over paid. Enter the overpayment amount on Line 16.

LINE 17 The taxpayer has an option of applying any part of the overpayment or the total amount of the overpayment as a credit to next year's return. Enter the desired credit on Line 17(a). The remainder, which will be refunded, should be entered on Line 17(b). If Line 17(a) is not completed, the entire overpayment will be refunded.

POA: By checking the POA box and signing the return, the taxpayer authorizes the Department to discuss this return with the preparer listed on the front of the return. This is a limited POA. Preparers may be required to submit a Form DP-2848 for other tax matters and/or vears.

SIGNATURE(S): You MUST SIGN IN BLUE OR BLACK INK AND DATE the return.

- Joint Filers: If you are filing a joint return, both spouses must sign in blue or black ink and date the return even if only one of you had income.
- Surviving Spouse: If one of the joint filers die subsequent to the end of the taxable period but prior to the filing of this return, enter the appropriate information in Step 2, sign the return as the joint filer and check the box below the signature line to indicate Filing as
- surviving spouse. If the taxpayer or spouse is deceased and the Interest and Dividends Tax return results in an overpayment to be refunded, Form NH-1310 may be required to issue the refund to someone other than the deceased party. Form NH-1310 is available on the web at www. nh.gov/revenue. For NH-1310 should be completed and attached to the return if applicable.
- Fiduciary/Trusts: If you are signing on behalf of a trust, you must indicate under what authority your are signing. (i.e. "trustee")
- Preparers: If you paid a preparer to complete this return, then the preparer must also sign in ink and date the return. The preparer must also provide his/her FEIN, SSN or federal preparer tax identification number and complete address.

COMMON ERRORS: The following is a list of the most common mistakes made by taxpayers when filing a New Hampshire Interest and Dividends Tax return. These, along with other errors, may cause the return to be considered an "incomplete return" which may result in the assessment of interest and penalties. To ensure that you have filed a complete return, carefully follow the general and line-by-line instructions and be sure you have done the following:

- Have you signed and dated the return in blue or black ink? (Rev 2904.04)
- If this is a joint return, has your spouse included his/her social security number, signed and dated the return in blue or black ink?
- If there is a balance due of \$1.00 or greater, have you enclosed a check for the total amount due?
- If your tax liability last year was \$100,000 or more, you are required to electronically pay your taxes at www.nh.gov/revenue.
- Did you make the check payable to the State of New Hampshire?
- Is the written amount on the check the same as the numeric amount?
- Have you signed and dated the check?
- Have you enclosed both pages of Form DP-10?
- Did you mistakenly send a payment in the amount of your credit or refund? If you would like to make an additional payment, use Form DP-10-ES



INTEREST AND DIVIDENDS TAX RETURN

INSTRUCTIONS (continued)

WHO IS TAXABLE

RSA 77:3 and Rev 902.06

INDIVIDUALS	PARTNERSHIPS, LLCs, ASSOCIATIONS	TRUSTS/FIDUCIARIES
IF:	IF:	IF:
Inhabitants or residents of New Hampshire for any part	Entity has non-transferable shares;	Entity has non-transferable shares;
of the taxable period; and Gross interest and dividend	Gross interest and dividend income from all sources exceeds \$2,400 during the taxable period;	Gross interest and dividend income from all sources exceeds \$2,400 during the taxable period;
income from all sources exceeds \$2,400 during the taxable period.	Primary or central place of business in New Hampshire; and	Fiduciaries derived their appointment from a New Hampshire court or the trust property is located in New Hampshire; and
	Any partner, trustee, member or owner is an inhabitant or resident of New Hampshire.	Trustee is an inhabitant or resident of New Hampshire.

WHAT IS TAXABLE To the Individual Filer

The actual cash or property distributions you receive from partnerships, LLCs, associations, estates or trusts fall into one of the following three categories: entirely NOT taxable to New Hampshire, entirely taxable to New Hampshire, or taxable in part to New Hampshire. In general, you can determine which category your income falls into by answering the questions below.

- (A) Is the organization required to file its own New Hampshire Interest and Dividends Tax return? If yes, your entire distribution is NOT taxable to New Hampshire. See (1) below. Use reason code 6. If no, move on to question B.
- (B) **Does the organization have transferable shares?** Can you transfer your shares without causing a dissolution of the organization or without obtaining prior member approval? If yes, your entire ACTUAL distribution from this organization is taxable. See (2) below. If no, move on to (C), below.
- (C) If the organization is not required to file its own New Hampshire Interest and Dividends Tax return AND the organization has non-transferable shares, then the distribution you received from them is taxable to you as if it had come from its original source. The interest and dividend income subject to tax shall be imposed on the portion of the actual distribution which represents interest or dividends received by the entity. See (3) below. Use reason code 7.

INCOME FROM	WHAT IS TAXABLE	HOW TO SHOW THE TAXABLE PORTION
Partnerships LLC's Associations Trusts	(1) No part of your distribution is taxable to New Hampshire.	Not applicable.
or Estates	(2) All of your actual and constructive receipt of distribution (including non-cash distributions) from this entity is taxable to New Hampshire regardless of the original source of the income.	On page 2, Line 2, enter its entity code, list the name of the entity and its federal employer identification number. In Column IV enter the total amount of the distribution you received.
	A portion of the distribution you received is taxable to you. The taxable portion is determined by multiplying the amount of the actual distribution received by a fraction. The numerator is the total interest and dividends received by the entity. The denominator is the total amount of gross income received by the entity.	On page 2, Line 2, enter its entity code, list the name of the entity and its federal employer identification number. In Column IV enter the total amount of the distribution you received. Enter the non-taxable amount on Line 4 and use Reason Code 7.
"S" Corporations	All actual and constructive receipt of distributions (including non-cash distributions) from an "S" corporation are taxable to New Hampshire regardless of the original source of the income.	On page 2, Line 2, enter entity code 2, list the name of the "S" corporation and its federal employer identification number. In Column IV enter the total amount of the distribution you received.

WHAT IS TAXABLETo the Partnership, LLC, Association or Trust

	WHAT IS TAXABLE	HOW TO SHOW THE TAXABLE PORTION
Partnership, LLC, Association or Trust when <u>all</u> of the interest holders are residents or inhabitants of New Hampshire.	All interest and dividends received which would be taxable if received by a resident individual.	List the interest and dividend income on Lines 1(a), (b) and (c) and Line 2. Enter the non-taxable amounts on Line 4, Column IV, with the reason code and the payer's name and federal employer identification number.
Partnership, LLC, Association or Trust when some of the interest holders are residents or inhabitants of New Hampshire.	Of the interest and dividends received, which would be taxable if received by a resident individual an amount proportionate to the aggregate interest of the partners or members who are inhabitants of this state.	List the interest and dividend income on Lines 1(a), (b) and (c) and Line 2. Enter the non-taxable amounts on Line 4, Column IV with the reason code and the payer's name and federal employer identification number. Use reason code 8 to reflect non-taxable interest and dividends allocated to non-New Hampshire residents interest holder.



INTEREST AND DIVIDENDS TAX RETURN

QUICK CHECK LIST

WHAT IS TAXABLE & NOT TAXABLE

Taxable in New Hampshire

INTEREST - FROM -

Not Taxable to New Hampshire

- All banks, credit unions, building & loan associations, trust companies.
- Bonds, notes and money at interest and from all debts due the person being taxed unless specifically exempt
- Personal life insurance interest
- Personal mortgages and loans
- Repurchase agreements
- Municipal bonds, EXCEPT New Hampshire
- · Deemed interest
- Indirect obligations of the US Government including: Federal National Mortgage Association (FNMA), Government National Mortgage Association (GNMA), Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (FHLM), and Farmers Home Administration (FHA).
- Annuities (except as part of an employee benefit plan as defined in ERISA of 1974 Sec. 3, or the principal portion of life insurance proceeds)
- Annual calculated interest from zero coupon bonds
- OID interest as shown on your 1099
- Interest paid on income tax refunds

- · New Hampshire State and New Hampshire Municipal bonds
- Individual Retirement Accounts
- Keogh Plans
- Tax Deferred Investment Plans
- Employee Benefit Plans defined by ERISA of 1974, Sec. 3
- Specifically exempted Puerto Rico, Guam & Virgin Islands bonds
- Direct obligations of the US Government including: Treasury Bills, US Savings Bonds, Treasury Bonds, Federal Home Loan Banks, US Postal Securities, Small Business Administration, Tennessee Valley Authority, Farm Credit System, Federal Financing Bank, General Services Administration, Student Loan Marketing Association (SLMA), and Resolution Funding Corporation
- New Hampshire Housing Authority Bonds, Industrial Development Authority, New Hampshire Higher Education and Health Facilities Authority, Firemen's Retirement, New Hampshire Retirement System, State Retirement Allowance
- Interest received from qualified funds invested in College Tuition Savings Plans.

— DIVIDENDS — FROM

- · Banks and bank holding companies
- All dividends unless specifically exempt by law
- Corporations (including New Hampshire Corporations)
- Mutual funds EXCEPT portion generated from direct obligations of the US Government or from capital gains
- Automatic reinvestments
- Actual cash or property distributions from "S" Corporations, Partnerships or Limited Liability Companies (LLC), and trusts represented by transferable shares
- Fair market value of distributed property by a business organization
- Forgiveness of debt by an organization
- Personal expenditures made by an organization for an individual and the fair market value of any property transferred
- World Bank dividends
- · Deemed dividends

- Capital gains, or any portion of the dividend that represents capital gain
- Return of capital, or any portion of the dividend that represents return of capital
- Stock dividends paid in new stock (not automatic reinvestment of mutual funds)
- Liquidating dividends
- Individual Retirement Accounts
- Keogh Plans
- Tax deferred investment plans
- Sale or exchange of transferable shares
- 1099 PATR (Patronage Dividends)
- Mutual funds which invest solely in New Hampshire tax-exempt instruments
- Dividends received from qualified funds invested in College Tuition Savings Plans.

FORM DP-2210/2220

NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION EXCEPTIONS AND PENALTY FOR THE UNDERPAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAX

		CHECK ONE: BUSINESS TAX RETURNS INTEREST & DIVIDENDS TAX RETURN OTHER			
For th	ne CALENDAR year 2010 or other taxable period beginning	and endin	1 1		
NAM	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	cai	FEDE OR S	RAL EMPLOYER IDENT OCIAL SECURITY NUM EPARTMENT IDENTIFIC	TIFICATION NUMBER BER CATION NUMBER
	PART I - FIGURE YOUR UNDERPAYMENT		l	_	
1	Current year tax\$				
2	90% of Line 1 (Line 1 x .90) \$				
3(a)	Enter in columns A through D the installment dates that correspond to the 15th of the 4th, 6th, 9th, and 12th months of your tax period or specify statutory due dates. (I&D filers see instructions)	Α	В	С	D
3(b)	Applicable percentages	25%	25%	25%	25%
3(c)	Enter Line 2 multiplied by Line 3(b) for columns A through D				
4	Amount paid timely or credited for each period				
5	Overpayment of previous installment				
6	Total (Line 4 plus Line 5)				
7	Overpayment [Line 6 minus Line 3(c)]. Enter in Line 5 next column				
8	Underpayment (Line 3(c) minus Line 6)				
	PART II - EXCEPTIONS TO PENALTY - SEE INSTRU	ICTIONS			
9	Cumulative amount paid or credited from the beginning of the tax year through the installment dates (see instructions)	А	В	С	D
10	Applicable percentages	25%	50%	75%	100%
11	Exception, prior period's tax (prior year must be 12 full months) [RSA 21-J:32,IV(a)]				
12	Applicable percentages	25%	50%	75%	100%
13	Exception prior period's tax base and facts using current years tax rate [RSA 21-J:32,IV(b)]				
14	Applicable percentages	22.5%	45%	67.5%	90%
15	Exception tax on annualized income [RSA 21-J:32,IV(c)] (Attach schedule)				
	PART III - COMPUTE THE PENALTY	Α	В	С	D
16	Amount of underpayment from Part I, Line 8				
17	Enter the date of payment or statutory due date of tax, whichever is earlier				
18	Enter the number of days from installment date [Line 3(a)] to date shown on Line 17				
19	Interest due through 12/31/10 at 6%: (see instructions) Number of days x 6% x amount (Line 16)				
20	Interest due after 12/31/10 at 6%: (see instructions) Number of days x 6% x amount (Line 16)				
21	Note: For interest rate in other years see instructions Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Tax (Line 19 plus Line 20)				
22	Total Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Tax (Total of columns A throu	gh D, Line 21)			

EXCEPTIONS AND PENALTYFOR THE UNDERPAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAX

INSTRUCTIONS

At the top of the return enter the beginning and ending dates of the taxable period if different from the calendar year.

PRINT the taxpayer's name, Social Security Number (SSN), Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN), or Department Identification Number (DIN) in the spaces provided.

SSNs are required pursuant to the authority granted by 42 U.S.C.S., Section 405. Wherever SSNs or FEINs are required, taxpayers who have been issued a DIN, shall use their DIN only, and not SSN or FEIN.

NOTE

If the Interest and Dividend Tax for the current taxable period is less than \$500 do not complete this form. If you made late partial estimated tax payments, or if this form does not adequately provide instructions for payments you have made, contact Central Taxpayer Services at (603) 271-2191. Individuals with hearing or speech impairments may call TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964.

PART I - FIGURE YOUR UNDERPAYMENT

LINE 3(a)

For Interest and Dividends calendar year filers, fourth quarter estimates are due January 18, 2011.

LINE 3(c)

Enter in Columns A through D the amount of Line 2 multiplied by Line 3(b).

LINE 4

Enter only the estimated amounts paid timely. Any amounts paid after the specified date [Line 3(a)] should be entered in the next quarter.

LINE 5

Enter any overpayment computed on Line 7 for the previous period. For example, Line 5 Column B will correspond to Line 7 column A.

LINE 8

If Line 8 shows an underpayment, and you do **not** meet an exception for that quarter, then you must compute the penalty. If there is no underpayment in Columns A through D, you need not complete the remainder of this form.

PART II - EXCEPTIONS TO PENALTY

LINE 9

For Interest and Dividends calendar year filers due dates are April, June, September and January; fourth quarter estimates are due January 18, 2011. All other filers: 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th, and 12th month of your tax period.

LINE 11

Exception pursuant to RSA 21-J:32, IV(a) - Prior period's tax. The prior year must have been a full twelve months and there must have been a tax liability. Multiply the annual **tax** paid in the previous year by the percentage shown in the boxes on Line 10, Columns A through D to calculate the exception amounts. If the amounts shown on Line 9, Columns A through D are greater than or equal to Line 11 corresponding columns A through D, you qualify for exception (a). Do not complete Part III for any column in which you qualify for exception (a).

LINE 13

Exception pursuant to RSA 21-J:32, IV(b) - Prior year's tax base and facts using current period tax rate. Multiply your prior year taxable base by the current tax rate to arrive at an adjusted tax. Multiply the adjusted tax by the percentage shown in the boxes on Line 12, Columns A through D to calculate the exception amounts. If the amounts shown on Line 9 Columns A through D are greater than or equal to Line 13 corresponding Columns A through D, you qualify for exception (b). Do not complete Part III for any column in which you qualify for exception (b).

LINE 15

Exception pursuant to RSA 21-J:32, IV(c) - Annualized Income. This exception may be applicable to taxpayers experiencing periodic fluctuations in income. This exception applies if the estimated tax paid was 90% or more of the amount the taxpayer would owe if its estimated tax was figured on an annualized basis for the months preceding an installment date.

A taxpayer may annualize its income as follows:

- (a) For the first 3 months, if the installment was required to be paid in the 4th month.
- (b) For the first 3 months or the first 5 months, if the installment was required to be paid in the 6th month.
- (c) For the first 6 months or for the first 8 months, if the installment was required to be paid in the 9th month.
- (d) For the first 9 months or for the first 11 months, if the installment was required to be paid in the 12th month.

To annualize, divide the taxable base for the period by the number of months in the period (3,5,6,8,9, or 11, as the case may be) then multiply the result by 12. Multiply the result by the current year's tax rate. Multiply the result of the preceding calculation by the percentage shown in the boxes on Line 14, Columns A through D to calculate the exception amount. Do not complete Part III for any column in which you qualify for exception pursuant to RSA 21-J:32, IV(c).

If you qualify for the exception, pursuant to RSA 21-J:32, IV(c), you must attach a schedule to this form showing the annualized income computations.

PART III - COMPUTE THE PENALTY

LINES 16 - 22

Complete Lines 16 through 21 for each quarter for which there was an underpayment of estimated tax and no exception to the penalty was met.

For the number of days indicated on Line 18, determine the number of days from installment due date to 12/31/10 and after 12/31/10. Include the amounts in the calculation shown on Lines 19 and 20.

NOTE: The interest rate is recomputed each year under the provisions of RSA 21-J:28, II. Applicable rates are as follows (contact the department for applicable rates for any other years):

<u>PERIOD</u>	<u>RATE</u>	DAILY RATE DECIMAL
		EQUIVALENT
1/1/2011 - 12/31/2011	6%	.000164
1/1/2010 - 12/31/2010	6%	.000164
1/1/2009 - 12/31/2009	7%	.000192
1/1/2008 - 12/31/2008	10%	.000273
1/1/2007 - 12/31/2007	10%	.000274

CALCULATION:

Tax Due X number of days from the installment due date to the date on Line 17 x Daily Rate Decimal Equivalent. The sum of days allocated between Lines 19 and 20 must equal the total days on Line 18.



TO MAKE YOUR PAYMENTS ON-LINE ACCESS E-FILE AT www.nh.gov/revenue

Who Must Pay Estimated Tax

Every individual, trust or fiduciary required to file an Interest and Dividends Tax Return must also make Estimated Interest and Dividends Tax payments for its subsequent taxable period unless the annual estimated tax for the subsequent taxable period is less than \$500. However, quarterly payments are required to be made whenever your annual estimated tax for the subsequent taxable period equals or exceeds \$500. (See paragraph 6 for exceptions).

RECOGNITION OF CIVIL UNION AS MARRIAGE

Effective January 1, 2010 the NH laws were modified to allow civil unions to be recognized as a marriage solemnized pursuant to RSA 457. Two persons who are parties to a civil union established pursuant to RSA 457-A that has not been dissolved or annulled by the parties or merged into a marriage by January 1, 2011 shall be deemed to be married under RSA 457 on January 1, 2011 and such civil union shall be merged into such marriage by operation of law on January 1, 2011.

Where to Make Payments

Make estimate tax payments on-line at www.nh.gov/revenue or mail estimate tax payments to:

NH DRA (NH DEPT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION) PO BOX 2072

CONCORD NH 03302-2072

When to Make Payments

CALENDAR YEAR FILERS:

1st quarterly payment due April 18, 2011 2nd quarterly payment due June 15, 2011 3rd quarterly payment due September 15, 2011 4th quarterly payment is due January 17, 2012

FISCAL YEAR FILERS: A quarterly payment is due on or before the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th and 12th months of the taxable period to which they relate.

Payment of Estimated Tax

Estimated tax may be paid in full with the initial declaration or in installments on the due dates. If paying in full, only one payment form is required.

You may make all four estimate payments at one time over the Internet. Specify each date you want a payment to be made from your account and each payment will be withdrawn on the date you specified.

Joint filers: Enter the primary taxpayer and spousal information in the same order on all tax documents to avoid delays in processing.

Underpayment Penalty

A penalty may be imposed by law (RSA 21-J:32) for an underpayment of estimated taxes if the payments are less than 90% of that period's tax liability. If estimate payments are not made on time, even if 90% of the tax is eventually paid, an underpayment penalty may be applied. If an estimated payment is missed, send the payment as soon as possible to reduce any penalty.

This penalty will not be imposed if any of the statutory exceptions apply per quarter.

Exceptions to the **Underpayment Penalty**

The penalty shall not apply if you meet one of the exceptions provided in the law (RSA 21-J:32). Use form DP 2210/2220 to see if you meet one of the exceptions or to compute the amount of the penalty.

This form may be obtained from our web site at www.nh.gov/revenue or by calling the forms line at (603)271-2192.

Need Help?

QUESTIONS not covered herein may be answered in our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) brochure available, on the Internet at www.nh.gov/revenue or by calling Central Taxpayer Services Office at (603) 271-2191.

Mandatory Electronic Filing

RSA 21-J:3, XXI requires taxpayers who had a tax liability in the prior tax year of \$100,000 or more to remit payment electronically. Pursuant to RSA 21-J:33, III, in the case of any failure to comply with the electronic payment requirements under RSA 21-J:3, XXI; a penalty shall be added to the amount of tax due equal to 5 percent of the amount of such tax not to exceed \$5,000. This penalty is in addition to any other penalty that may be applicable and shall be assessed. collected, and paid in the same manner as taxes. The penalty in this paragraph shall not apply if failure to pay electronically was due to reasonable cause and not willful neglect of the taxpayer.

ESTIMATED INTEREST AND DIVIDENDS TAX

TO MAKE YOUR PAYMENTS ON-LINE ACCESS E-FILE AT www.nh.gov/revenue

	TAXPAYER'S WORKSHE	ET-KEEP FOR YOUR RECO	RDS			
1 All interest and divide	end income taxable by the State		1			
2 Less Exemption-che	eck the exemptions that apply:					
2(a) Yourself S 2(b) 65 (or over) or Spouse 65 (or o	disabled Blind		number boxes checked x \$24	. ,		
3 New Hampshire Taxa	[Line 2(a) plus 2(b)]ble Income [Line 1 minus Line 2(c)]	.3	If Line 4 is less than \$500 see instructions		
5 OVERPAYMENT app (If the overpayment e the next installment a	,	ne overage will be applied to	.5	paragraph No. 1.		
6 BALANCE OF ESTIM	MATED INTEREST & DIVIDENDS	TAX (Line 4 minus Line 5)	.6			
COMPUTATION and RECORD of PAYMENTS						
Date Paid	Amount of each Installment (¹/4 of Line 4 of worksheet)	2010 Overpayment Applied to Installment	Balance Due	CALENDAR YEAR DUE DATES		
1	\$	\$	\$	April 18, 2011		
2	\$	\$	\$	June 15, 2011		
3	\$	\$. \$	Sept. 15, 2011		
4	\$	\$	\$	Jan. 17, 2012		

IMPORTANT:

PUT THE NAMES AND SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS ON THE ESTIMATE FORM IN THE SAME SEQUENCE AS THOSE TO BE USED ON THE RETURN.

THE PENALTY PROVISIONS OF RSA 21-J:32 WILL APPLY IF THE ESTIMATE REQUIREMENTS HAVE NOT BEEN MET.

FORM **DP-10-ES** 042

NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION

ESTIMATED INTEREST AND DIVIDENDS TAX - 2011

If issued a DIN, do not use SSN or FEIN

or the CALENDAR	R year 2011 or other taxable peri	od beginning	Day Year and en	nding	Day Year	FOR DRA USE ONLY
DINT OF TYPE	ENTITY TYPE - CHECK ONE:	1 Individua	al/Joint (3) Partr	nership	4 Fiduciar	V
LAST NAME		FIRST NAME & INITIA			SECURITY NUMBE	•
SPOUSE'S LAST NAM	1E	FIRST NAME & INITIA	AL	SOCIAL	SECURITY NUMBE	R
NAME OF PARTNERS	HIP, TRUST, ESTATE, OR LLC				L EMPLOYER IDEN MENT IDENTIFICA	NTIFICATION NUMBER TION NUMBER
NUMBER AND STREE	ET ADDRESS					
ADDRESS (continued))					
CITY/TOWN, STATE &	ZIP CODE					
FOR DRA USE ONLY	CHECK IF ADDRESS IS DIE	EEDENT EDOM E	DIOD DETLIDA			
						Payment .
	Make check payable to: STATI Do not staple or tape your p Do not file a \$0 estimate.	ayment to this es	timate.			Form 1
	MAIL NH DRA		Amount of This	s Paymen	t \$	
	TO: PO BOX 2072 CONCORD NH 03302-					<u> </u>
			8181 1811 8811 88181 1811 8811			
						DP-10-E: Rev 9/201
		(Cut a	along this line)			
DP-10-ES	NEW HAMF	PSHIRE DEPARTM	IENT OF REVENUE	ADMINIST	RATION	
042)		T AND DIVIDEND			
042		If issued a DIN	do not use SSN or F	FIN		
the CALENDAR	R year 2011 or other taxable period	·	Day Year and er	1	Day Year	
	ENTITY TYPE - CHECK ONE:	1 Individua	· — —	nership	4) Fiduciar	FOR DRA USE ONLY
RINT OR TYPE	ENTITY TIPE - CHECK ONE.					•
AST NAME		FIRST NAME & INITI.	AL	SOCIAL	SECURITY NUMBE	:K
SPOUSE'S LAST NAM		FIRST NAME & INITI.	AL	SOCIAL	SECURITY NUMBER	ER
NAME OF PARTNERS	SHIP, TRUST, ESTATE, OR LLC				L EMPLOYER IDEI	NTIFICATION NUMBER TION NUMBER
NUMBER AND STREE	ET ADDRESS					
ADDRESS (continued))					
CITY/TOWN, STATE 8	3 ZIP CODE					
FOR DRA USE ONLY	CHECK IF ADDRESS IS DIF	FERENT FROM F	PRIOR RETURN.			Daywaant
	Make check payable to: STAT Do not staple or tape your p Do not file a \$0 estimate.	E OF NEW HAMP payment to this es	SHIRE. timate.			Payment Form 2
	NH DRA		Amount of Thi	s Pavmen	nt \$	I
	TO: PO BOX 2072 CONCORD NH 03302			, , ,	<u> </u>	
] 			
						DP-10-E Rev 9/20

FORM **DP-10-ES** 042

NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ADMINISTRATION

ESTIMATED INTEREST AND DIVIDENDS TAX - 2011

If issued a DIN, do not

ot use SSN or FEIN	
	FOR DRA USE ONLY

or CALENDAR `	YEAR 2011 or other taxable perio	od beginning		ling Mo Da	y Year	
	ENTITY TYPE - CHECK ONE:	1 Individua			4) Fiduciary	
LAST NAME	ENTIT TIFE - CHECK ONE.	FIRST NAME & INITIA		` <u>`</u>	URITY NUMBER	,
LACT IVANIL		THOT WAWE & INTER	i.	GOOIAL GLO	ORTH NOMBER	•
SPOUSE'S LAST NA	ME	FIRST NAME & INITIA	AL	SOCIAL SEC	URITY NUMBER	
NAME OF PARTNER	RSHIP, TRUST, ESTATE, OR LLC				MPLOYER IDENT IT IDENTIFICATI	FIFICATION NUMBER ON NUMBER
NUMBER AND STRE	FET ADDRESS					
ADDRESS (continued	d)			•		
CITY/TOWN STATE	9 7ID CODE					
CITY/TOWN, STATE	& ZIP CODE					
FOR DRA USE ONLY	CHECK IF ADDRESS IS DIF	FERENT FROM P	RIOR RETURN.			
	Make check payable to: STATI	E OF NEW HAMPS	SHIRE.			Payment Form 3
	Do not staple or tape your page 15 Do not file a \$0 estimate.					Form 3
	MAIL NH DRA		Amount of Th	is Payment	\$	
	TO: PO BOX 2072	ING DIVISION		-		
	CONCORD NH 03302-	2072				
					 	
						DP-1 Rev 9
		(Cut a	along this line)			,
FORM	NFW HAME	PSHIRE DEPARTM	IENT OF REVENUE	ADMINISTRA	TION	
DP-10-E 3	ʊ		Γ AND DIVIDEN			
042		If issued a DIN	do not use SSN or	FFIN		
For CALENDAR	YEAR 2011 or other taxable period	•		ding		
i or or teeribrii t	TEAR TO OTHER MANAGED POR			Mo Da	y Year	FOR DRA USE ONLY
PRINT OR TYPE	ENTITY TYPE - CHECK ONE:	1 Individua	al/Joint 3 Par	tnership (4 Fiduciary	
LAST NAME		FIRST NAME & INITI	AL	SOCIAL SEC	URITY NUMBER	?
SPOUSE'S LAST NA	AME	FIRST NAME & INITI.	AL	SOCIAL SEC	CURITY NUMBER	₹
NAME OF PARTNER	RSHIP, TRUST, ESTATE, OR LLC					TIFICATION NUMBER
				DEPARTMEN	NT IDENTIFICATI	ION NUMBER
NUMBER AND STRE	EET ADDRESS					
ADDRESS (continue	ad)					
ADDITEGO (continue	a)					
CITY/TOWN, STATE	& ZIP CODE					
FOR DE 1 112 = 21	v I					
FOR DRA USE ONLY	CHECK IF ADDRESS IS DII	FFERENT FROM F	PRIOR RETURN.			Payment
	Make check payable to: STAT Do not staple or tape your p					Payment Form 4
	Do not file a \$0 estimate.	ayment to this es	-			
	MAIL NH DRA DOCUMENT PROCESS	SING DIVISION	Amount of Th	nis Payment	\$	
	TO: PO BOX 2072 CONCORD NH 03302					<u> </u>
	CONCORD IND 03302	-2012	_			